Home / Artists / Frank Rosenwein, oboe

Frank Rosenwein, oboe


Frank Rosenwein joined The Cleveland Orchestra as principal oboe at the beginning of the 2005-06 season.  He made his solo debut with the Orchestra in February 2007, in Bach’s Brandenburg Concerto No. 2.  Recent concerto appearances with the Orchestra have included playing a movement from Mozart’s Oboe Concerto at the gala celebrating the start of Franz Welser-Möst’s tenth season as music director, playing the Richard Strauss Oboe Concerto in 2012, and the first Cleveland Orchestra performances of the Vaughan Williams Oboe Concerto in 2017.

Since 2006, Mr. Rosenwein has been head of the oboe department at the Cleveland Institute of Music.  He also teaches at the Kent/Blossom Music Festival, and is in demand as a guest artist and masterclass clinician in schools all over the world.  An avid chamber musician, he has spent many summers at the Marlboro Festival and has performed with the Mainly Mozart Festival in San Diego and the Seattle Chamber Music Society.

Born in Evanston, Illinois, Mr. Rosenwein holds a bachelor of music degree from the Cleveland Institute of Music, where he studied with former Cleveland Orchestra principal oboe John Mack, and a master of music degree from the Juilliard School.   Prior to coming to Cleveland, he served as principal oboe (2002-05) of the San Diego Symphony and San Diego Opera, and was also guest principal oboe with the Chicago Symphony Orchestra.

Mr. Rosenwein is married to associate concertmaster Jung-Min Amy Lee.  They live in Cleveland Heights with their twin boys, Joshua and Julian, and their dog, Sofie.

"Rosenwein consistently captures the elusive beauty of the oboe’s upper register..."

-Cleveland Scene

Omni Quartet w/ Joshua Smith, flute, and Frank Rosenwein, oboe

Sunday, January 6, 2019 - 3:00 PM

Perelman Theater, Kimmel Center, 300 South Broad Street
Philadelphia, PA 19102

The Program

Mozart: Adagio and Fugue in C Minor, K. 546
Mozart: Flute Quartet in D Major, K. 285
Mozart: Oboe Quartet in F Major, K. 370
Mozart: String Quartet in G Major, K. 387


This concert is supported by Robert E. Mortensen.

Visit the Society's blog to read our interview with violinist Amy Lee.

No old concerts

Cleveland Scene

“Rosenwein consistently captures the elusive beauty of the oboe’s upper register...”

Chicago Classical Review

“...plangent and evocative...”

Subscribe to Our Email List!

And receive special discount offers and program information

Skip to toolbar