New York Wind Quintet

The New York Woodwind Quintet includes Carol Wincenc, flute; Stephen Taylor, oboe; Charles Neidich, clarinet; Marc Goldberg, bassoon; and William Purvis, horn. For almost 60 seasons, the Quintet has maintained an active performance schedule in the United States and abroad while also teaching the next generation of woodwind performers. The group has commissioned and premiered over 20 compositions, some of which have become classics of the woodwind repertoire. They include Samuel Barber's Summer Music and quintets by Gunther Schuller, Ezra Laderman, William Bergsma, Alec Wilder, William Sydeman, Wallingford Riegger, Jon Deak, and Yehudi Wyner. The Quintet has featured many of these in recordings for such labels as Boston Skyline, Bridge, New World Records, and Nonesuch. The Quintet's members also honor the legacy of departed members, including the late Samuel Baron, by continuing to perform his transcriptions of works such as Bach's Art of the Fugue and the Scherzo from Mendelssohn's A Midsummer Night's Dream, and the late Ronald Roseman, by performing his Wind Quintet No. 2 and Sextet for Piano and Winds which was dedicated to the New York Woodwind Quintet and completed just before he died. All internationally recognized performers and teachers, current NYWQ members Wincenc, Neidich, Taylor, Goldberg and Purvis continue the Quintet's long residency at the Juilliard School, where they present eight seminars each year for student woodwind quintets, teach individual students, and give regular coaching sessions.