Lydia Artymiw, piano
Cynthia Raim, piano

Tuesday, May 06, 2025 - 7:30 PM
Perelman Theater, Kimmel Center

Perelman Theater, Kimmel Center

300 South Broad Street Learn More

This concert is part of the Elaine Kligerman Piano Recital Series. You can subscribe to these series, Build Your Own subscription, or purchase a Season Pass. Individual tickets go on sale August 1.

About This Performance

PCMS’s second event honoring Ravel’s 150th birthday features pianists Lydia Artymiw and Cynthia Raim, both of whom have been Philadelphia favorites for decades, with more than 70 PCMS performances between them. For this special duo recital, Artymiw and Raim present solo and four-hands works by Ravel, whose revelatory style of French music draws from such diverse inspirations as Asian culture, French Symbolist poetry, Spanish folk music, and Impressionist painting.

Ravel: Ma mère l’Oye
Ravel: Menuet antique in F-sharp Minor
Ravel: Valses nobles et sentimentales
Ravel: Le Tombeau de Couperin
Ravel: Rapsodie espagnole

The Artist(s)

Lydia Artymiw, piano
The recipient of an Avery Fisher Career Grant and the Andrew Wolf Chamber Music Prize, Philadelphia-born Lydia Artymiw has performed with over one hundred orchestras world-wide including the Boston Symphony, Cleveland Orchestra, New York Philharmonic, Philadelphia Orchestra, Minnesota Orchestra, San Francisco Symphony, Seattle Symphony, Pittsburgh Symphony, Detroit Symphony, LA Philharmonic, Cincinnati Symphony, St. Luke’s Chamber Orchestra,… Read More
Cynthia Raim, piano
Cynthia Raim came to international attention when she was unanimously chosen as the First Prize Winner of the 1979 Clara Haskil International Piano Competition in Switzerland, after winning First Prizes in the 1977 Three Rivers National Piano Competition in Pittsburgh and the J. S. Bach International Piano Competition in Washington DC. She has been acclaimed for her concerto,… Read More


Lydia Artymiw | Mendelssohn: 3 Fantasies, Op. 16: No. 3 in E Major, MWV U72. Andante
Cynthia Raim | Bartok: Piano Sonata, Sz. 80: I. Allegro moderato