Brentano Quartet

Wednesday, March 01, 2023 - 7:30 PM
American Philosophical Society

American Philosophical Society

Benjamin Franklin Hall,
427 Chestnut Street
Learn More

$25.00 per ticket

- +

About This Performance

Dvořák “turned the musical establishment upside down,” notes Brentano violist Serena Canin, when he proclaimed that “in the Negro melodies of America I discover all that is needed for a great and noble school of music… There is nothing in the whole range of composition that cannot be supplied with themes from this source.” The magnificent Brentano Quartet brings this credo to life in a program that explores Dvořák and his American legacy. 

Dvořák and the American Identity
Deep River (spiritual)
Dvořák: Quartet in A-flat Major, Op. 105
Dvořák: Lento from Quartet in F Major, Op. 96, American
Still: The Quiet One from the Lyric Quartet
Ives: Prelude: Allegro from Quartet No. 1, From the Salvation Army
Walker: Lyric for Strings
Mackey: I’ve Grown So Ugly
Go Down Moses-Swing Low Sweet Chariot (spiritual)

Watch the livestreamed concert via the video player below.

Help Us Keep the Music Playing

PCMS livestreams are offered on a pay what you wish basis. These performances are possible only because of the generous support of friends like you, who have sustained our Society for the past 35 years. We thank you for contributing as generously as you can when watching these events. Gifts of any size are deeply appreciated. Please use the form below to give or text PCMS to 44321.

If you encounter any technical issues while donating, please try refreshing the page or donating via PayPal.

Special thanks to Susan Giesecke Bloom and A. Charles Winkelman with support from The Pew Center for Arts and Heritage, Theodore Presser Foundation, Dot and Rick Nelson, Sid Kaplan, and the American Philosophical Society for their support of our livestream series, and for helping us deliver world-class artistry to audiences around the globe.

The Artist(s)

Brentano Quartet
Brentano Quartet
Since its inception in 1992, the Brentano String Quartet has appeared throughout the world to popular and critical acclaim.  “Passionate, uninhibited and spellbinding,” raves the London Independent; the New York Times extols its “luxuriously warm sound [and] yearning lyricism.” Within a few years of its formation, the Quartet garnered the first Cleveland Quartet Award and the Naumburg Chamber Music Award and was also honored in the U.K.… Read More


Brentano Quartet | Beethoven's Op. 130 & 133
Brentano Quartet | Beethoven's Op.59, No.2