Brentano Quartet

Sunday, May 04, 2025 - 3 PM
American Philosophical Society

American Philosophical Society

Benjamin Franklin Hall,
427 Chestnut Street
Learn More

This concert is part of the APS Series. You can subscribe to this series, Build Your Own subscription, or purchase a Season Pass. Individual tickets go on sale August 1.

About This Performance

Haydn’s world is wildly variegated, representing the quintessence of what the string quartet is able to offer, replete with intimacy, social interactions, great beauty, and excitement. In this special two-part concert, separated by a reception with complimentary food tastings, the “passionate, uninhibited, and spellbinding” (London Independent) Brentano Quartet illuminates the master’s six Op. 33 quartets, offering a dazzling array of imaginative, profound, witty, and mesmerizing inspirations.

Part I:
Haydn: Quartet in B Minor, Op. 33, No. 1
Haydn: Quartet in E-flat Major, Op. 33, No. 2, The Joke
Haydn: Quartet in C Major, Op. 33, No. 3, The Bird

Part II:
Haydn: Quartet in B-flat Major, Op. 33, No. 4
Haydn: Quartet in G Major, Op. 33, No. 5
Haydn: Quartet in D Major, Op. 33, No. 6

Watch the livestreamed concert via the video player below.

Help Us Keep the Music Playing

PCMS livestreams are offered on a pay what you wish basis. These performances are possible only because of the generous support of friends like you. We thank you for contributing as generously as you can when watching these events. Gifts of any size are deeply appreciated. Please use the form below to give or text PCMS to 44321.

If you encounter any technical issues while donating, please try refreshing the page or donating via PayPal.

Special thanks to Susan Giesecke Bloom and A. Charles Winkelman with support from The Pew Center for Arts and Heritage, Theodore Presser Foundation, Dot and Rick Nelson, Sid Kaplan, and the American Philosophical Society for their support of our livestream series, and for helping us deliver world-class artistry to audiences around the globe.

The Artist(s)

Brentano Quartet
Brentano Quartet
Since its inception in 1992, the Brentano String Quartet has appeared throughout the world to popular and critical acclaim.  “Passionate, uninhibited and spellbinding,” raves the London Independent; the New York Times extols its “luxuriously warm sound [and] yearning lyricism.” Within a few years of its formation, the Quartet garnered the first Cleveland Quartet Award and the Naumburg Chamber Music Award and was also honored in the U.K.… Read More


Brentano Quartet | Haydn: Quartet in B Minor, Op. 64, No. 2
Brentano Quartet | Haydn: Quartet No. 36 in B-flat Major, Op. 50, No. 1