Home / Concerts / Catherine Cho, violin; Hsin-Yun Huang, viola; Marcy Rosen, cello; Ieva Jokubaviciute, piano

Catherine Cho, violin; Hsin-Yun Huang, viola; Marcy Rosen, cello; Ieva Jokubaviciute, piano

Sunday, December 04, 2016 - 3:00 PM

American Philosophical Society

Benjamin Franklin Hall
427 Chestnut Street
Philadelphia, PA 19106

This event has passed.

Four distinguished artists collaborate for a program of chamber music masterpieces. Many regard Dvořák’s Piano Trio No. 3 in F-Minor as a milestone. It is uncharacteristically serious, stormy, and fraught with tragic conflict—unusual for a man generally regarded as sanguine and uncomplicated—and it is supposed that Dvořák was expressing his grief over the death of his mother. Brahms wrote his ambitious Piano Quartet No. 1 in G Minor at the age of twenty-eight. The third composition in what would become an oeuvre of some twenty-six chamber music masterworks, this quartet enjoys a fine reputation in no small part due to the vigorously effective Gypsy Rondo Finale.

Dvořák: Piano Trio in F Minor, Op. 65
Brahms: Piano Quartet in G Minor, Op. 25

Catherine Cho, violin

Catherine Cho is recognized for her remarkable virtuosity, combining technical mastery of her instrument with an extraordinary and distinctive musicality. Ms. Cho’s orchestral engagements have included appearances with the Detroit, Montreal, and Washington DC’s National Symphony orchestras, the Buffalo Philharmonic, the National Arts Centre Orchestra in Ottawa, the Edmonton Symphony, the Korean Broadcasting Symphony, among.

View full bio

Hsin-Yun Huang, viola

A native of Taiwan, Hsin-Yun Huang moved to England at age fourteen to study with David Takeno at the Yehudi Menuhin School. Her studies continued at the Curtis Institute with Michael Tree, and subsequently at the Juilliard School, where she earned her master of music degree while studying with Samuel Rhodes. Since becoming the youngest-ever gold medalist.

View full bio

Marcy Rosen, cello

Los Angeles Times music critic Herbert Glass has called cellist Marcy Rosen “one of the intimate art’s abiding treasures.” She has performed in recital and with orchestra throughout Canada, England, France, Japan, Italy, Switzerland, and all fifty of the United States. She made her concerto debut with the Philadelphia Orchestra at the age of 18 and has since.

View full bio

Ieva Jokubaviciute, piano

Lithuanian pianist Ieva Jokubaviciute’s intricately crafted performances and ability to communicate the essential substance of a work has led critics to describe her as possessing ‘razor-sharp intelligence and wit’ (The Washington Post) and as ‘an artist of commanding technique, refined temperament and persuasive insight’ (The New York Times).  In 2006, she was honored as a.

View full bio