Catalyst Quartet
Harlem Quartet

Friday, October 30, 2020 - 6:00 PM
American Philosophical Society

American Philosophical Society

Benjamin Franklin Hall,
427 Chestnut Street
Learn More

Sold OutPlease join us via live-stream or call 215-569-8080 to join the waiting list

About This Performance

Note #1: This performance was originally scheduled for 7:30 pm at the Perelman Theater. Tickets to the original time/venue will gain you entrance to this concert. 

Note #2: “Due to increasing demand for her compositions, and obligations with a recently-accepted position at the Mannes School, violinist Jessie Montgomery has regretfully withdrawn from tonight’s concert. We are very pleased that the wonderful violinist Abigail Fayette has agreed to step in for her.” —Members of the Catalyst Quartet

A pair of dynamic young American quartets come together in their Society debuts. Sphinx Competition laureates, they present a program featuring Felix Mendelssohn’s famed octet and the world premiere of Kenji Bunch’s the still, small voice, a PCMS-commissioned octet based on Whitman’s poem Election Day, November, 1884.

Bunch: the still, small voice  World Premiere/PCMS Commission*
Shostakovich: Two Pieces for String Octet
Montgomery: Strum [Arr.]
Mendelssohn: Octet in E-flat Major, Op. 20

Watch the live-streamed concert via the video player below.


Please note: live-stream events are broadcast in real time. The video will remain available for 72 hours after each performance, subject to the approval of the artists. 

Help Us Keep the Music Playing

These live-streamed performances are possible only because of the generous support of friends like you, who have sustained our Society for the past 34 years. We thank you for contributing as generously as you can when watching these events. Gifts of any size are deeply appreciated. Please use the form below to give or text PCMS to 44321. 

Special thanks to Susan Giesecke Bloom, MD and A. Charles Winkelman, MD, and to The Presser Foundation, for their support of our live-stream programming.

*This commission has been made possible by the Chamber Music America Classical Commissioning Program, with generous funding provided by The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation. Copyright © 2020 by Kenji Bunch Music Publishing (ASCAP). All Rights Reserved. Sole Agent: Bill Holab Music.

The Artist(s)

Catalyst Quartet
Catalyst Quartet
Hailed by the New York Times at their Carnegie Hall debut as “invariably energetic and finely burnished…playing with earthy vigor,” the Catalyst Quartet is comprised of top Laureates and alumni of the internationally acclaimed Sphinx Competition. Known for “rhythmic energy, polyphonic clarity and tight ensemble-playing,” the ensemble has toured throughout the United States and abroad,… Read More
Harlem Quartet
Harlem Quartet
The New York-based Harlem Quartet has been praised for its "panache" by the New York Times and hailed in the Cincinnati Enquirer for “bringing a new attitude to classical music, one that is fresh, bracing and intelligent.” It has also won plaudits from such veteran musicians as Grammy-winning woodwind virtuoso Ted Nash of the Jazz at Lincoln Center Orchestra,… Read More


We are the Catalyst Quartet
Harlem Quartet, Mendelssohn op 80, Encore "Take the A train"