David Greilsammer, piano

Thursday, November 11, 2021 - 7:00 pm
American Philosophical Society

American Philosophical Society

Benjamin Franklin Hall,
427 Chestnut Street
Learn More

This event has passed.

About This Performance

This concert is supported by the Adele and John Gray Endowment Fund.

This new program, created especially for PCMS and the American Philosophical Society, takes its inspiration from “Metamorphosis”, Philip Glass’s celebrated series of works. Composed in the late 1980’s and inspired by Kafka’s 1915 novella “The Metamorphosis”, these pieces remain among Glass’s most intriguing creations for solo piano. Unusual and mysterious, this program has been conceived as if it were one long piece, made of numerous short movements and fragments, each quickly transforming and evolving, always giving birth to a new series of sounds. Built in palindrome form, this project wishes to question the existence of the piano recital in the 21st century, by proposing an intense dialogue between various genres, ideas, and styles.

This program is 65 minutes in length and performed without any break or intermission.

ScriabinNuances, Op. 56, No. 3
D. Scarlatti: Sonata in B Minor, K. 27
Ligeti: Musica Ricercata, No. 7
Mozart: Fantasy in C Minor, K. 475, Part 1
FrobergerThe Tomb of Monsieur Blancrocher, Part 1
Glass: Metamorphosis 1
CouperinLes Barricades Mystérieuses, Part 1
Janáček: On the Overgrown Path, Part 1
CPE Bach: Fantasy in D Minor, Part 1
SatieGnossienne No. 2
Beethoven: Bagatelle in B Minor, Op. 126, No. 4
Cage: Piano piece, Part 1
ProkofievRomeo and Juliet, Part 1
RebelChaos (originally for orchestra, Arr. by J. Keren)
ProkofievRomeo and Juliet, Part 2
Cage: Piano piece, Part 2
Beethoven: Bagatelle in G Major, Op. 126, No. 5
SatieGnossienne No.1
CPE Bach: Fantasy in D Minor, Part 2
JanáčekOn the Overgrown Path, Part 2
CouperinLes Barricades Mystérieuses, Part 2
GlassMetamorphosis 2
Froberger:  The Tomb of Monsieur Blancrocher, Part 2
Mozart:  Fantasy in C Minor, K. 475, Part 2
Ligeti: Musica Ricercata, No. 8
D. Scarlatti: Sonata in D Minor, K. 141
Scriabin: Vers la flamme, Op. 72