Erinys Quartet
Roberto Díaz, viola
Peter Wiley, cello

Sunday, May 11, 2025 - 3 PM
American Philosophical Society

American Philosophical Society

Benjamin Franklin Hall,
427 Chestnut Street
Learn More

This concert is part of the APS Series and the Wagman Century Series. You can subscribe to this series, Build Your Own subscription, or purchase a Season Pass. Individual tickets go on sale August 1.

About This Performance

The Alexander Schneider Concert

With roots in Estonia, Lithuania, Greece, the U.S., and Finland, the Erinys Quartet is an international ensemble that currently serves as Quartet-in- Residence at the Curtis Institute. Violist and Curtis President Roberto Díaz and Grammy-nominated cellist Peter Wiley join this emerging quartet for a program featuring Brahms’s richly inventive G Major Sextet and a world premiere by Andrea Clearfield.

Beethoven: Quartet in B-flat Major, Op. 18, No. 6
Clearfield: QuartetWorld Premiere/PCMS Commission
Brahms: String Sextet in G Major, Op. 36

*This piece was commissioned as part of the Chamber Music for All (CMFA) project, which seeks to broaden the audience for contemporary chamber music. Co-sponsored by PCMS and Diane and Lawrence Blum, CMFA engages composers to write works that are accessible to large audiences, with as consonant a harmonic language as they feel comfortable writing, and at a technical level that allows them to be played by capable amateur musicians as well as professionals. Diane and Larry hope that listeners who play instruments will want to acquire the scores while the ink is barely dry, and to get together and have fun playing some new music.

Watch the livestreamed concert via the video player below.

Help Us Keep the Music Playing

PCMS livestreams are offered on a pay what you wish basis. These performances are possible only because of the generous support of friends like you. We thank you for contributing as generously as you can when watching these events. Gifts of any size are deeply appreciated. Please use the form below to give or text PCMS to 44321.

If you encounter any technical issues while donating, please try refreshing the page or donating via PayPal.

Special thanks to Susan Giesecke Bloom and A. Charles Winkelman with support from The Pew Center for Arts and Heritage, Theodore Presser Foundation, Dot and Rick Nelson, Sid Kaplan, and the American Philosophical Society for their support of our livestream series, and for helping us deliver world-class artistry to audiences around the globe.

The Artist(s)

Erinys Quartet
Named for the Erinyes (a.k.a. the Furies) from the Greek tragedy Oresteia by Aeschylus, and with roots in Estonia, Lithuania, Greece, the United States, and Finland, the Erinys Quartet was founded in 2018 at the Sibelius Academy in Helsinki where they worked closely with cellist Marko Ylönen. Since Autumn 2023 Erinys has been the Nina von Maltzahn String Quartet-in-Residence at the Curtis Institute of Music in Philadelphia,… Read More
Roberto Diaz
Roberto Dí­az, viola
A violist of international reputation, Roberto Díaz is president and CEO of the Curtis Institute of Music, following in the footsteps of renowned soloist/directors, such as Josef Hofmann, Efrem Zimbalist, and Rudolf Serkin. As a teacher of viola at Curtis and former principal viola of the Philadelphia Orchestra, he has already had a significant impact on American musical life,… Read More
Peter Wiley, cello
Celebrated for his "accurate intonation and warmth of tone" (New York Times), Grammy-nominated cellist Peter Wiley attended the Curtis Institute at just 13 years of age, under the tutelage of David Soyer. He continued his precocious accomplishments with his appointment as principal cellist of the Cincinnati Symphony at age 20, after one year in the Pittsburgh Symphony.  … Read More


Erinys Quartet | Janácek: String quartet no. 2 'Intimate Letters'
Peter Wiley | Brahms: Sonata for Cello and Piano in E minor, Op. 38