Marcantonio Barone, piano

Sunday, December 13, 2020 - 3:00 PM
American Philosophical Society

American Philosophical Society

Benjamin Franklin Hall,
427 Chestnut Street
Learn More

This event has passed.

About This Performance

We are delighted to welcome back to our series a pianist well known for his consummate musicianship and brilliant technique. Marcantonio Barone’s recital features the world premiere of George Crumb’s Metamorphoses (Book II), a work written specifically for him that offers a broad palette of coloristic effects along with Crumb’s unmistakable musical gestures, and an inherent sense of drama coupled with a magical, suspenseful atmosphere.

Mozart: Sonata in D Major, K. 311
Bartók: Suite, Op. 14
Crumb: Metamorphoses, Book II [World Premiere]