Miriam Fried, violin
Jonathan Biss, piano

Tuesday, November 24, 2020 - 7:30 PM
Perelman Theater, Kimmel Center

Perelman Theater, Kimmel Center

300 South Broad Street Learn More

This concert is part of the Field String Recital Series. You can also Build Your Own Subscription or purchase a Season Pass. Individual tickets go on sale September 8.

About This Performance

Violin and piano, wisdom and vigor, mother and son. All come together in this joint performance by Miriam Fried and Jonathan Biss who have spent the past decade devoting a portion of their artistic endeavors to performing together. Enthusiastic chamber musicians, Fried has been heralded for her “fiery intensity and emotional depth” (Musical America) and technical mastery while Biss is widely acclaimed for his artistry, musical intelligence, and deeply felt interpretations.

Mozart: Violin Sonata in C Major, K. 303
Debussy: Violin Sonata
Bartók: Violin Sonata No. 2
Janáček: Violin Sonata
Mozart: Violin Sonata in A Major, K. 526

The Artist(s)

Miriam Fried, violin
Miriam Fried has been recognized for years as one of the world’s preeminent violinists. A consummate musician–equally accomplished as recitalist, concerto soloist, or chamber musician–she has been heralded for her “fiery intensity and emotional depth” (Musical America) as well as for her technical mastery. Fried has played with virtually every major orchestra in the United States and Europe and has been a frequent guest with the principal orchestras of Boston,… Read More
Jonathan Biss, piano
Jonathan Biss is a world-renowned pianist who shares his deep musical curiosity with classical music lovers in the concert hall and beyond. Over the course of two decades on the concert stage he has forged relationships with the New York Philharmonic; the Philadelphia, Cleveland, and Philharmonia orchestras; the Boston, Chicago, and Swedish Radio symphony orchestras; and the Leipzig Gewandhaus,… Read More


Miriam Fried plays Brahms (LIVE performance) in HD
Piano Master Class with Jonathan Biss: Beethoven Piano Sonata No. 30 in E Major, Op. 109