Musicians from Marlboro I

Tuesday, November 14, 2023 - 7:30 PM
American Philosophical Society

American Philosophical Society

Benjamin Franklin Hall,
427 Chestnut Street
Learn More

This event has passed.

About This Performance

The Musicians from Marlboro touring program offers “exactly the type of concert that the classical scene needs more of” (Boston Musical Intelligencer). The first touring ensemble this season from classical music’s “life-giving spring” (New York Times) presents Viola, Viola by 2022 Marlboro Composer-in-Residence George Benjamin alongside Felix Mendelssohn’s exuberant E-flat Major Quartet and Lyric for Strings by George Walker, the first Black composer to win the Pulitzer Prize for Music.

Maria Ioudenitch & Claire Bourg, violin; Beth Guterman Chu & Hayang Park, viola; Christoph Richter, cello

Haydn: Quartet in G Major, Op. 77, No. 1
Benjamin: Viola, Viola
Walker: String Quartet No. 1 [excerpt]: Slow Dance (original version of Lyric for Strings)
Mendelssohn: Quartet in E-flat Major, Op. 44, No. 3

Running time: 1 hour and 40 minutes (including intermission)