Friday, February 04, 2022 - 7:30 PM
American Philosophical Society

American Philosophical Society

Benjamin Franklin Hall,
427 Chestnut Street
Learn More

$25.00 per ticket

- +

About This Performance

The Joan & Jonathan Kleinbard Endowed Concert

Early music audiences will fondly recall the memorable 2019 PCMS debut of harpsichordist Jean Rondeau, one of the four musicians of this French ensemble that is rewriting the rulebook on period-instrument concerts. They aim to transcend the baroque quartet repertoire (flute, violin, viola da gamba, and harpsichord) with a thoroughly engaging mix of virtuoso expertise and unpretentious charm.

J.S. Bach: Art of Fugue, BWV 1080 — Contrapunctus 1, 4, 6 (Arr.)
C.P.E. Bach: Keyboard Sonata in A Major, H. 29 (Arr.)
C.P.E. Bach: Quartet in A Minor, H. 537
C.P.E. Bach: Quartet in D Major, H. 538
C.P.E. Bach: Quartet in G Major, H. 539
C.P.E. Bach: Keyboard Sonata in A Major, H. 135 (Arr.)

Watch the livestreamed concert via the video player below.

Help Us Keep the Music Playing

These livestreamed performances are possible only because of the generous support of friends like you, who have sustained our Society for the past 34 years. We thank you for contributing as generously as you can when watching these events. Gifts of any size are deeply appreciated. Please use the form below to give or text PCMS to 44321.

Special thanks to Susan Giesecke Bloom, MD and A. Charles Winkelman, MD, and to The Presser Foundation, for their support of our livestream programming.

The Artist(s)

The love and passion of ancient repertoire and music from all horizons led Anna Besson, Louis Creac’h, Robin Pharo, and Jean Rondeau to create the group Nevermind in 2013. Together they share and present works they love to a wider and more varied audience, transcending the quartet repertoire (flute, violin, viola da gamba and harpsichord) of the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries.… Read More


Nevermind | Telemann: Quatuors Parisiens
Nevermind | J. S. Bach: Trio Sonata No. 5 in C Major, BWV 529 (Allegro)